a Steel Guitar Forum site

Home    CDs    Shopping Cart

Elizabeth West  

Item #C-027

"Wild Child"

Real country steel guitar is alive and well in British Columbia, Canada! Forum member Elizabeth West wrote a eleven pedal steel instrumentals, then colaborated with studio wizard Don Thompson to record them with a dynamite band. Sho-Bud fans will appreciate the woody tone of Elizabeth's Super Pro-II guitar. Her songs, style and talent bring out that sound we love to hear.

Also included is one vocal tune, "Lost Soldiers" - a tribute to those who fought and died for our freedom. Elizabeth wrote, sang and played steel on this tune, which is sure to touch your heart.


  1. Earning My Keep
  2. Real Tears
  3. Let's Dance
  4. Chief Silver Heels
  5. This Time It Hurts But Good
  6. Dasha Polka
  7. Wild Child
  8. I Was Only Dreaming
  9. Tired Of Your World
  10. What Were We Thinking?
  11. Hunting Spuzzum Sasquatch
  12. Lost Soldiers 
  13. Dedicated to the memory of Jeff Newman


Item #C-051

"Skippin' Along "

Elizabeth West's second CD of original tunes shows her continuing growth both as a steel player and as a composer. The songs are, to my ear, more interesting than the first. They are still country, but there's more variety in the chord progressions. I especially like the title cut Skippin Along with its catchy hook.

Elizabeth's Sho-Bud is right out front in the mix, backed by a great country band. I guess I'd call this easy listening country because its great background music at work or around the house.


  1. Monumental Moments
  2. You're Not The One I Love
  3. Skippin' Along
  4. Reconstructive Steel
  5. That Ol' Muddy Spuzzum River
  6. Better Days
  7. Time's Up
  8. Nina (nine-a) May Polka
  9. Oh So Happy
  10. Friend in Tennessee
  11. Cowgirl Swing
  12. I Want My Baby Back
  13. What Is Love (instrumental)
  14. What Is Love (vocal)  

Item #C-094

"St. Louis Rain "

Elizabeth's 2008 release features more of her great pedal steel guitar instrumentals, backed by some of the finest musicians in western Canada. Also included is her touching tribute to her beloved Mother, "One In A Billion".

So often we hear steel players recycling the tunes of the past. Elizabeth takes what she needs from traditional techniques and uses them as a starting point to write her own music. Her rhythms and accompaniment follow the familiar styles, but the melodies and chord progressions are uniquely her own. I always enjoy listening to her latest musical adventures.

  1. Derby Bounce
  2. Easy
  3. Don't Know "Y"
  4. Why You Treat Me So Damned Bad
  5. I'll Try
  6. Spuzzum Mountain Polka
  7. Hurtin'
  8. Two More Bottles Of Rye
  9. St. Louis Rain
  10. Candy Mountain
  11. One in a Billion (Instrumental)
  12. One in a Billion (Vocal Track)  

Copyright 2003-2012 by The Steel Guitar Forum